Four Different Paths Of Yoga

Yoga transmutes animal nature into divine nature and raises a sadhaka to the heights of divine glory and splendor. To come out of lust for power, material greed, sensual pleasure, selfishness, passion for wealth and all materialistic desires is possible, if one practices the very principles of Yoga in the right earnest.

Four Paths Of Yoga

  1. Karma yoga is suitable for the one who is active and selfless.

  2. Bhakti yoga is for the one who is emotional and devotional in nature.

  3. Raja Yoga is for the one of mystic temperament.

  4. Jnana Yoga is for the one of rational and philosophical temperament or inquiry.

Karma Yoga is the way of selfless service. A person who has put himself on the path of service and is least bothered of its outcome is called the Karma-Yogi. His every action is done with a feeling as if he is an instrument in the hands of the Lord and doing all the work for Him. Bhakti Yoga is the path of complete devotion to the Lord. She who seeks the union with Lord through selfless love or devotion is called a Bhakti-Yogi. Raja Yoga is sometimes known as the king of all Yogas. It concerns gaining mastery over the body and mind and subtle energy centers within us. He who seeks to have union with the Lord through mysticism is called a Raja-Yogi. Jnana Yoga is the path of wisdom. She who seeks to unite herself with the Lord through philosophy and inquiry is called the Jnana-Yogi.

Other Popular Types Of Yoga

  • Hatha yoga is the path of controlling the prana and the physical body. Asana, pranayama, mudra, bandha, and shatkarma constitute the Hatha Yoga path. It is a Yoga of Cleansing and is the most popular Yoga today.

  • Mantra Yoga is the path of reciting mantras of God.

  • Laya Yoga is the path of dissolution of the mind, through hearing the Anahata sounds.

  • Kundalini Yoga is the path of awakening Kundalini and joining it with Lord Shiva in the Sahasrara Chakra and is most popular among those who want to evolve through physical breathing practices.

All yogas culminate in Jnana Yoga. Vedanta alone is the Crowning Glory of all Yogas. All Yogas meet in one place – the universal Principal - God.

  • Vedic Yoga Facebok Group
  • Vedic Yoga Channel
  • Black Twitter Icon

"Give. Love. Serve."
--Swami Chinmayananda

Vedic Yoga is part of Vedic Health Inc, a registered 501(c)3 nonprofit organization whose members  provide information and education in Yoga and Ayurveda, and other holistic and natural health subjects.  Our members are not trained in Western medical diagnosis or treatments, are not physicians, nor licensed health care professionals. No medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment is given.  You should be evaluated by a physician if you are suffering from a disease or symptom. 


This site will remain ad-free.

© 2020 Vedic Yoga.  All rights reserved.

Vedic Health Inc | 50 W Edmonston Dr, Suite 405, Rockville, MD 20852 | 240-753-0151